Home | News | Download | Packages | Forum | Wiki | Github

Why are there packages in the repos with capital letters

Hey together,

I’m new to void from a 5 year Arch journey and one of the first things I stumbled upon are the package names with Capitals (e.g. Thunar).
Is there any reason for this? It would be nice to have lowercase package names only :slight_smile:
Maybe we can change them before the workload is to big because of reused packages.

Your WTFs and frustrations in Void

This issue was already discussed. The point is, we do not use modified names from the download links that the developers offer. This means, if a package is offered with capital letters, because the developer decided it, we will use it as it is being offered.

Tip: xbps-query -Rs string does not care about Capitals.

Ok, seems kind of reasonable.

I didn’t tried it yet, but is it possible to have a “Thunar” and a “thunar” package in the repo? If that’s the case, what would happen with xbps-query -Rs string?

Maybe there could be a restriction to use lowercase only?

(Masato the Empty) #5

Pretty sure It would show both. Actually, -s searches for the descriptions as well, so any package without [Tt]hunar in its name but referencing it in the description also comes up.

xbps-install still requires the correct case for installing packages. Because of that, I’d suspect that it is possible to have packages whose names vary in case only.

There’s quite a few packages like this in the BSD tree, I know FreeBSD’s screenFetch package is just that.

A bit infuriating but maybe there was a reason once, who knows…

Then it should be no problem if I start to mirror the packages with a new name or try to convince the maintainers :grin:

(Erin) #8