Home | News | Download | Packages | Forum | Wiki | Github

Void Rollback Machine?

I’m a longtime archlinux user making the transition to void. (sound familiar? 8-))

One feature of the arch infrastructure that I’ve come to use routinely, is the A.R.M. (arch rollback machine), now known as archive.archlinux.org, as described here (see the history section):

With the rolling release it is difficult to “lock down” an installation to a specific set of dependencies/versions. As a software developer, I don’t want to change versions of Qt or GCC in the middle of a project. However I’ll sometimes want to install a new package (without updating the whole system).

The archive is an incredible tool for this. I simply replace the Server line in the pacman mirrorlist with a link to a specific day in the archive repos, and after that all updates come from that point in time (when hopefully, all packages are mutually compatible).

The archlinux archive is updated with the state of the package repos everyday. For my purposes (and perhaps many others) it wouldn’t be necessary to include a snapshot everyday. Even once a week or so would be sufficient.

Is there some possibility that an archive/rollback machine feature could be implemented for Void Linux?

Thank You!

Void used to have an archive exactly like arch’s.
One day it was gone, never to be seen again without any public announcement.

Hmm, that’s unfortunate.

Hopefully this feature finds its way back.

As a work around, one can snarf the entire binary repo on the day of performing an update. Then use it locally to add additional packages as needed.

Personally, i only do a complete system update once a year or so, unless there’s a specific new feature or bug fix that i need.

Thank you for the info cardinal!

Well if its connected to the internet, that’s not really a good idea.