How to get internet connection on VM with void linux

(Aline ) #1

Hello everyone! I am new with void linux and begginer with linux in general. I got a VMware vm with void already installed. I would like to have internet on the vm. Can anyone help me? Preformatted textI have no idea how to even start. Thank you in advance. Aline

Which version did you boot/install? Mostly you just need to enable the dhcpcd service.

(Aline ) #3

Linux version 4.9.87_1

I was asking about which flavour you did boot, like XFCE, LXDE, LXQT, Cinnamon, Enlightement or minimal?

(Aline ) #5

sorry. I would have to guess it is the minimal.

Did you read about the network configuration, especially about dhcp?

https://wiki.voidlinux.eu/Network_Configuration#Dynamic_IP_.28DHCP.29

(Aline ) #7

yes, I read and tried this commands.

Sorry but if you are not going to work here with me I cannot help you.

We don’t magically know what your issue is and you need to learn how to give proper replies in order for someone else to be able to help you.

Either you are more specific and explain exactly what you tried, what happened (including the exact error messages if any) and what you expected to happen there is not much I can do at this point.

(Aline ) #9

Hello! I am very sorry for not being able to give you proper replies. Let me try once again starting from zero.

I received a VM with void already installed. I am actually interested in using this vm to get to know Grafana (which is also already installed). For Grafana, I want to install some plugins and for that I needed internet connection. So I found and read the Network wiki (specially the link you posted). Executing ln -s /etc/sv/dhcpcd /var/service/ didn’t give me any error message.
this is the ip link output

which I must say I cannot explain what does it mean other than showing the available interfaces.
I expected this command to already enable network connection.