Home | News | Download | Packages | Forum | Wiki | Github

Ace Stream: someone interested?

quote from homepage:

Ace Stream is a media platform of a new generation with a decentralized system of delivering and storing multimedia data, which is designed to create Internet services with functions of AVoD (Audio and Video on Demand) and Live Streaming, with extensive social and interactive component. […]

a couple of weeks ago I’d tried to put into operation Ace Stream on Void so that to be able to play the acestream:// links around…
at the end of my first tests I was stopped by the lack of an dependency, python-gevent, so I did request of it on github…
those guys are fantastic and the package is now in the repository!

so today I tried again and …YES! I can now streaming with Ace Stream on Void!!
it is not a very complicated thing so I thought I could describe the steps that I made for the benefit of others, if someone interested.
since I’m not an expert on the subject, probably some of you it will find a better way than what I have found by myself… anyway, it’s working! :stuck_out_tongue:

behind your permission, I gladly describe my steps in a later post in this thread…

2 likes so I assume I can post :wink:

we need 3 components:

• acestream-engine
    you can download it from this address
    (do not switch to english language page since it has older versions)
    I’ve downloaded acestream_3.0.5.1_debian_7.4_x86_64.tar.gz
  • aceproxy
    download the zip archive from here
    this is labeled as ‘ABANDONED!’ however, it still works (…)
  • mpv
    sudo xbps-install mpv
    (mpv is simply my favorite player; if your is another, that’s OK as long as you see it works!)

where unpack engine and proxy is up to you; for example, it could be done like this:

~/acestream
├── engine
│   ├── acestream.conf
│   ├── acestreamengine
│   ├── data
│   └── lib
└── proxy
    ├── aceclient
    ├── aceconfig.py
    ├── acedefconfig.py
    ├── acehttp.py
    ├── LICENSE